Beginners Guide to Chakras

Hi everyone! This post is for all of you who want a basic introduction to the Chakras. You may have heard about them in your yoga class, through a friend, or from your own curiosity – wherever you learned about them, I’m glad you did. I’m constantly trying to tune my energy, whether it be taking the time to breathe and ground myself, to try some at-home crystal healing, or getting reiki session.

What are Chakras?

The chakras are our seven main centers of spiritual energy within our bodies. Each chakra has it’s own unique vibration – it’s own frequency. These frequencies are aligned to the unique energies of the chakras, and they express themselves in different colors.

Life can put you and your chakras all out of balance – causing both physical and emotional imbalance. A great way to become more aware and in tune with your self and your body is to tune into the energies of your chakras. Become aware of what is balanced, what isn’t, and what needs to happen to get those babies aligned and running smoothly!

For more information on how to balance your chakras at home, check out my Beginner’s Guide to At-Home Crystal Chakra Healing!

The Seven Chakras

root1st Chakra – The Root Chakra – “I Am”
The root chakra sits at the base of your spine and corresponds with the colors red and black.

Crystals: Garnet, Hematite, Smoky Quartz

Emotional Imbalance: Feelings of insecurity in having or providing basic survival or necessities, ideally nourishment and food, home and shelter, money and finances.

Physical Imbalance: Problems in the base of the body, the feet, legs, tailbone, immune system.

Balanced: A balanced Root Chakra should provide emotional and physical support, safety within the physical world, a feeling of being connected and grounded to the self and the world around you.

sacral2nd Chakra – The Sacral Chakra – “I Feel”
The sacral chakra is located below the navel and corresponds with the color orange.

Crystals: Orange Calcite, Carnelian, Vanadinite

Emotional Imbalance: This chakra affects your emotional investment in your personal relationships. It affects our ability to act on desire, pleasures, to express your emotions, your creativty, your sensuality and your sexuality. It plays on the fear of addictions, of betrayal, and also impotence or infertility.

Physical Imbalance: Problems in the reproductive areas: sexual organs, kidneys, urinary, hip, lower back, and pelvis.

Balanced: With a balanced Sacral chakra, you can harness and be comfortable with your sexuality, your passions, your drive, and your desires. Risk taking, creativity, and the ability to be a committed partner or friend is no problem.

Solar Plexus3rd Chakra – The Solar Plexus Chakra – “I Will”
The Solar Plexus is located at the solar plexus, the breastbone and corresponds with the color yellow.

Crystals: Yellow Jasper, Golden Calcite, Citrine

Emotional Imbalance: Feelings of insecurities or issues with self esteem, confidence, and personal drive and inspiration. Fears criticism, is self conscious, and fears rejection.

Physical Imbalance: Problems with digestion, diabetes, high blood pressure, liver dysfunction, chronic fatigue.

Balanced: With a balanced Solar Plexus, one is aware and comfortable with their self-respect, self-love, and self-compassion. You are in tune with yourself, in control, and confident – ready to take on the day.

heart4th Chakra – The Heart Chakra – “I Love”
The Heart Chakra is located in the center of chest and corresponds with the colors green, and pink.

Crystals: Rose Quartz, Jade, Green Aventurine

Emotional Imbalance: Heart chakra imbalances often point to being clingy, suffocating, jealous, bitter, and angry. In laments terms, issues of the heart. Fears include abandonment and loneliness.

Physical Imbalance: Problems include heart disease, breathing and lung issues, upper back pain, shoulder pain, arm pain, breast issues, and wrist pain.

Balanced: A balanced heart chakra will allow one to feel love and compassion, self-love, unconditional love, forgiveness, trust, joy, and gratitude.

throat5th Chakra – The Throat Chakra – “I Speak”
The Throat Chakra is located at the neck/throat above the collar bone and corresponds with the color blue.

Crystals: Blue Turquoise, Sodalite, Blue Calcite

Emotional Imbalance: Imbalances in the throat will reflect weak self-expression whether its verbal or written. An imbalanced throat chakra reflects fears of having no options, no power, and no control.

Physical Imbalance: Problems with the thyroid, sore throats, facial issues, mouth issues, neck pain, shoulder pain.

Balanced: A balanced throat chakra allows for comfort in expression, in communication, honesty, and the ability to be free flowing in your words and your writing. Great at listening and being attentive.

third eye6th Chakra – The Third Eye or Forehead Chakra – “I See”
The Third Eye Chakra is located at the third eye, centered above the brows and corresponds to the color indigo.

Crystals: Lapis Lazuli, Azurite, Sugilite

Emotional Imbalance: Issues and insecurities often with mood, reflection of the self, and fear itself. You aren’t able to see the true self just yet, you may not have ease in facing your fears, and may not have an open mind. The ability to learn from others and have an open mind is low, or inactive. You are in your imagination often, and imagination often is exaggerated, or turns to frequent daydreaming.

Physical Imbalance: Problems with the sinuses, vision and the eyes, hearing loss, hormonal issues.

Balanced: A balanced Third Eye Chakra allows one to feel focused, to feel clarity, and to distinguish between the truth and the false, or the illusion of truth. You are open to others, you are open to new ideas and wisdom.

crown7th Chakra – The Crown Chakra – “I Know”

The 7th Chakra is located at the top of the head or the crown and correpsonds with the colors purple, violet, white.

Crystals: Amethyst, White Calcite, Quartz (clear, crystal)

Emotional Imbalance: Imbalance in the Crown Chakra often shows issues with spirituality, religion, or with the knowledge of the self, and the knowledge of greater powers. Confusion is a frequent feeling, and you carry prejudice, judgement. You fear being ostracized or alienated.

Physical Imbalance: Depression, sensitivity in both emotions and to the light, sensitivty to sound, inability to learn, low sense of worth.

Balanced: A balanced Crown Chakra – often one of the most difficult to achieve – will show the essence of living within the moment. Living mindfully, living consciously, and being aware of the self. Your insight is heightened and you are aware of yourself, the world around you, and your place in the world. The strive for transcendence, for learning, self-exploration, conscious growth is heightened or achieved. You have an inner guidance, showing you how to journey your path.

Share Your Knowledge

This of course is a basic introduction to the chakras – everything can be interpreted as you please. And from what I know, there are tons of crystals out there! Share with me your chakra knowledge! I’d love to learn!

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply